Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Attorney General Recognizes PGPD Officers

The Prince George's County Police Department was recognized by Attorney General Jeff Sessions at the 66th Annual Attorney General’s Awards Ceremony. We are honored to receive this national award and recognition.  We are very proud of the men and women who serve our residents.
The following was released by the United States Attorney’s Office on Wednesday, October 31st:

Two Maryland law enforcement teams were among 280 Department of Justice employees and others recognized by Attorney General Jeff Sessions for their distinguished public service at the 66th Annual Attorney General’s Awards Ceremony held on October 24, 2018.  This annual ceremony recognizes employees and other individuals who have demonstrated exceptional achievements, leadership, and service to the Department of Justice and the American people. 

 U.S. Attorney Robert K. Hur; Special Agent in Charge Gordon B. Johnson of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Baltimore Field Office; Special Agent in Charge Rob Cekada of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) Baltimore Field Division; Harford County Sheriff Jeffrey R. Gahler; Interim Commissioner Gary Tuggle of the Baltimore Police Department; Chief Terrence B. Sheridan of the Baltimore County Police Department; and Chief Henry P. Stawinski III of the Prince George’s County Police Department commended the members of their own offices, and all the other award recipients for their dedication and hard work that have made our communities safer.

 “Service in the Department of Justice is more than a normal job; it is a calling to the highest standards of professionalism,” Attorney General Jeff Sessions said. “That is true for all of the 115,000 Department of Justice employees.  But it is especially true for these award winners. And so I want to thank them and their families for their exemplary service to this Department and to the American people. They have made this Department proud.”

 The Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service was presented to the team from the Maryland U.S. Attorney’s Office, the FBI Baltimore Field Office, the Harford County Sheriff’s Office, the Baltimore Police Department, and the Baltimore County Police Department for their investigation and prosecution of corrupt police officers who were members of the Baltimore Police Gun Trace Task Force, who planted evidence, robbed citizens, protected drug dealers, sold drugs, and falsified police department records. 

 The William French Smith Award for Outstanding Contributions to Cooperative Law Enforcement was presented to a team from the Prince George’s County Police Department (PGPD) for the collaboration of the Prince George’s Gun Intelligence Unit working with the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF) to form a task force that trained PGPD officers on firearms tracing and the use of National Integrated Ballistic Information Network (NIBIN) intelligence, and implemented a screening process for conducting follow-up investigations on every firearm recovered in Prince George’s County, in an effort to reduce violent crime.

              This year’s program honors individuals across the Department and our federal, state, local, and tribal partners for their selfless efforts, protecting our national security and our civil rights, addressing rising violent crime in our communities, and pursuing gangs and those trafficking in dangerous narcotics and human beings.  The awards also honor the work of civil and environmental litigation, which enforces the rule of law and upholds our Constitution.  They also recognize employees whose ideas and efforts save taxpayer dollars and help our government operate more effectively and efficiently, among other contributions to public safety and good governance. 

 The William French Smith Award for Outstanding Contributions to Cooperative Law Enforcement was presented to the following members of the Prince George’s County Police Department, who are also ATF Task Force Officers:
                       Sergeant Shane M. Goudreau;
            Sergeant Jakob E. Wolford;
            Detective Ché L. Atkinson;
            Detective Chase M. Carter;
            Detective Ryan J. Cox;
            Detective Nicole M. McGowen;
            Detective Christopher V. Schultz;
            Detective Andre MJ Thompson;
            Detective Wayne R. Tracey; and
            Detective Gregory M. Travis.

No comments:

Blog Archive