Friday, September 9, 2011

Chief Mark A. Magaw Announces Senior Command Promotions

Prince George’s County, Maryland… Prince George’s County Chief of Police Mark A. Magaw and County Executive Rushern L. Baker, III announced senior command promotions in the police department. Today, Chief Magaw promoted one Assistant Chief of Police, four Lieutenant Colonels (Deputy Chiefs), eleven Majors, ten Captains, twelve Lieutenants, and seventeen Sergeants.

Lt. Colonel Kevin Davis, promoted to Assistant Chief of Police, most recently commanded the department’s Bureau of Patrol. He has served in Districts I, III, IV, and the Special Operations and Narcotics Enforcement Divisions. He grew up in College Park and graduated from DeMatha High School and holds a Bachelor’s Degree in English. He is a 2004 graduate of the National FBI Academy.

Craig A. Howard, Dwayne A. Preston, Henry P. Stawinski, III, and Gevonia R. Whittington were promoted to Lieutenant Colonel (Deputy Chiefs) and will command the department’s four bureau’s to include the Bureau’s of Administration, Patrol, Support Services, and Strategic Management.

Promotions to the rank of Major included:
Raymond W. Gordon, Jr.
Marcos R. Zarragoitia
Morgan P. Kennedy
Robert J. Nealon, II
Michael E. Straughan
Mark E. Person
Amal E. Awad
Cesar Pacheco
Robert W. Brewer
Jason P. Bogue
Samir D. Patel

Promotions to the rank of Captain included:
Joseph R. Hoffman
Tammy D. Sparkman
Robert S. Clark, Jr.
Douglas W. Garrett
Genia D. Reaves
Oscar Rodriguez
Timothy W. Tyler
Daniel J. Weishaar
Jason C. Johnson
Gregory W. Scheirer

“The promotion of these commanders will allow our vision of community policing to move forward. Each of these new commanders brings fresh perspectives and a renewed sense of urgency to the task of providing public safety for our residents. These commanders will ensure a new level of accountability and provide leadership to the officers under their commands,” said Chief of Police Mark A. Magaw.

For further information, contact the Prince George’s County Police Department’s Press Information Office at 301-772-4710.

No comments:

Blog Archive